2013: 1st day of Animanga

Shin-Getter

Shin Getter Robo: Armageddon

Getter Robo is one of those franchises that are considered classic for anime -and especially mecha- fans around the world. I knew little more about this until, during my summer vacation, I decided to watch Armageddon.

Normally I would have called this a lost case. The story is interesting but the narration is rather clumsy, filled with many unexplained plot twists, absurd flashbacks and time skips. Most of the stories that combine those errors  end up in my garbage bin -but that is not the case with Armageddon! Why is that? Let me mention the most important reason:

1. The characters are absolutely insane and cool. For me, watching them and their absolutely illogical reasoning (see image below) became an addiction. A great plus is each one of them has its own unique trace, so there is actually a great variety of personalities to love and hate.

1

…and stabilize the core!

2. The battles are full of exaggerated violence and gore. There is no censorship for those who love those elements, but at the same time most of the scenes don’t go to the point of deliberately trying to make the watcher feel sick -so there is some good balance here.

4

3. The soundtrack is fantastic; Heats (by Hironobu Kageyama) and Hurry up Dreams (by Masako Iwanaga) are two of the best pieces I have heard in anime music. Really, there is not much more to say -you have to listen to it to get what I mean.

4. Getteeeeeeeer Tomahoaaaaawk… BOOMERANG!

Of course, in the case of this show there are many reasons why one would feel the exact opposite of what I feel. Armageddon is a “love or hate it” thing, no question. But if you are a fan of mecha or love random things, if you wish to watch something violent yet funny, then this is surely a show you must watch.

Postscript

Of course, after getting addicted to Shin Getter Robo Armageddon, I could not stop myself from watching other versions of the story (the original manga, the original 1970s Getter Robo and the New Getter Robot OVAs. But Armageddon remains the most fun version I have yet to come across, which is why I chose to dedicate this article to it.

4 thoughts on “2013: 1st day of Animanga

    • Well, if I’m right, this ’12 days of Christmas’ custom stems from the homonym song, which you are right- it starts counting from 25th or 26th of December. But since the blogosphere has named it like this, everyone starts blogging on 14th and it’s everywhere (search animenano; almost everyone calls it ’12 Days of Christmas’), I thought that the way I write it is not much different or of much importance.

      I can change the title but nothing of substance will change, unless you are perhaps willing to go to every blogger and pinpoint their mistake. Or you can write a post of your own where you suggest we start writing from the 25th (next year ofc) and spread it.

      Like

  1. By original manga, I hope you meant Getter Robo Saga which includes the sequels such as G, Go, Shin and Arc. Maybe throw in Anthology too.

    I think you might have missed the Shin Getter Robo vs Neo Getter Robo ova.

    Armageddon is tad convoluted. Director Imagawa (Giant Robo, G Gundam, Shin Mazinger) was fired after episode 3 (that or he left willingly), and got replaced by Director Jun Kawagoe (Cyborg 009 2001, New Getter Robo, Shin Getter Robo vs Neo Getter Robo, Koutetsushin Jeeg, Mazinkaiser SKL). That’s why there’s such a disconnect in the story as Imagawa was so mad he wouldn’t let the new staff use his script that he planned for the entire series.

    Like

    • I did mean the Getter Robo Saga, even though I have not yet found the time to move on from the first arc -I am right at the part where the Dinosaur Empire has just collapsed.

      I know of the OVA, but again, haven’t watched due to lack of time.

      Well, for a series born with so many problems, it still ended up awesome. For me, it is still my favorite of its kind, even more than i.e. Shin Mazinger.

      Like

Take your pen and write your story, co-traveler~

