Artistic worries and other stories (part 2)

header

*The following post is full of artistic rant and nudity. You have been warned.*

Hello everyone! How are you doin’? It’s the second part of “Artistic worries”, our bimonthly series of articles dedicated to the various worries I have as an artist.

Fact 1: Most of my time the past two months goes to work on my book design activities. In particular, I have been working on a book related to the history of modern Greek Orthodox choir music. It is a very interesting subject, even for atheists, since one learns a lot about Greek culture the past decades. Given the opportunity, I wish to state something; it is not the nature of a book’s content that’s the graphic designer’s main challenge; as with most projects, it all comes down to how the writer and publisher wish to organize their work.

There are cases where the designer gets all of the book’s content, text and images, from the beginning, and starts putting things together, working alongside the rest of the “team”. Such cases are what I call heaven and are usually the simplest and fastest projects. Then, there are also those titles where the writer has yet to finish writing down at least 25% of the whole book, is not sure in what way he/she wants the book to look and, the worst of everything, he/she wishes to… “help” while the designer works on it. A recipe for disaster, I must say. But, eventually, things usually turn out well, or so we say.

Fact 2: I am in love with my tablet and I really want to make all sort of crazy stuff with her. That being said, I am thinking whether my work is good enough to open myself for commissions. If anyone wishes to, I’d really like to get some feedback.

Fact 3: I have started my own tumblr; also, I am now using my deviantart account regularly, so anyone interested can follow me in the links above.

Lets take a look at some of my recent work.

Fanarts

8

Jinmen (Devilman fanart)

7

The End of Devilman (Devilman)

6

The Two Princesses (Shoujo Kakumei Utena)

5

The Deformed Hero Miko-chan (Devilman)

4

Titan of Flesh (Shingeki no Kyoujin)

3

Miki dies (Devilman)

2

Homunculus: The Dwarf in the Flask (Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood)

1Jun’s Inferno (Devilman Lady)

Personal works

11

Girls Love (part 1)

12

Girls Love (part 2)

10

You & my Ball Gag

9The Unproductive Self

Thank you for handling my ranting and I hope you like these fanarts. Wait for more to come.

4 thoughts on “Artistic worries and other stories (part 2)

  1. I noticed you are leaning toward stylizing human form. While this can work, I suggest you look into anatomy a little more before stylizing. I find hands especially difficult; you share some of my own problems with drawing hands :).

    I suggest being a little careful of bdsm subject matter. It can create a stigma to your work that may hurt future commissions. It isn’t a good idea to pigeon-hole yourself too early : ).

    You make bold use of color and your style has a very modern feel. It may be a good idea to study art classically to improve your foundation. Trying to copy works by Ruben, Picasso, Caravaggio, and other artists is a good exercise. Then, try reworking the copy with your own modern style.

    Like

    • I know what you mean about anatomy. My main problem is how to organize time between creating something of my own and practice, but I guess I cannot keep on avoiding the issue.

      Most of the bdsm-related themes are based on Nagai’s works and usually exist beforehand (i.e. Jinmen has been recently depicted in “Devilman G” as someone who uses sex in a dominative way). I understand your point and I try to work on different themes, but it is kind of hard for me not to focus on more… hm, “harsh” subjects.

      Took note of the last paragraph, will surely give it a shot.

      Thank you very much for the feedback!

      Like

Take your pen and write your story, co-traveler~

