Memory and Oblivion in Sora no Woto

The price of a memory, is the memory of the sorrow it brings.
― Pittacus Lore, I Am Number Four

We must embrace pain and burn it as fuel for our journey.
— Kenji Miyazawa (1896-1933)

Remembrance of things past is not necessarily the remembrance of things as they were.
― Marcel Proust

The scars that are left in a person’s soul after surviving a war, the ways a society tries to console and redeem itself, how the historical truth gets twisted, suited and tailored to different people’s needs: these are topics that Sora no Woto, beyond its flaws, managed to sing about elegantly. The sound of the sky carried and awakened memories…

Animediet was kind enough to host me once more. Check the rest of my post there.

8 thoughts on “Memory and Oblivion in Sora no Woto

  1. Ah, Sora no Woto, one of my all time favorite milimoe/moetary anime. Shame on those who shunned it as a K-ON! clone.

    War, war never changes. War scar innocent souls like no other. Filicia being haunted by the spirits of allies and enemies on the battlefield, Kureha’s parents being casualties and Noel…hoo boy, my Noel! Besides her Italian girlfriend, the dark deeds she was forced to commit…it made the scene where she became uncharacteristically worried was the definitive eye opener. Heck, even the civilians who lived in the village show the hidden pain they endure while living in a false sense of security. Even Kanata isn’t safe from the reality of war.

    In short, I love this show.

    Like

  2. Don't worry, that's precious feedback; though it's easier said than done, hehe. I thought I was ok by using titles, but I guess it didn't work much.

    Like

  3. I wasn't actually criticizing the content of your article, which is plenty interesting and does well to focus on one aspect of the anime. I was merely talking about the structure of the article. Sorry if it was confusing. Let me rephrase that. Your text feels disjointed. While each example you give follows the main thematic, there's no link between each of them. In other terms, there is no transition between each part of your article. To be fair there are links, but it took me to read deep within each part before I could make them myself. You can imagine how distracting it is to wonder why it is you are reading about the Legend of the Flame Maidens right after the part about the festival, then "getting it". What happened it that I wasted energy creating links instead of concentrating on the content itself.This isn't as big a deal as I may have made it appear to be. But it's tiring for your readers, and may result in people not seeing the big picture because you don't help them. It is actually easy to avoid: simply put links at the end and/or start of every section. Yep, that's it. Better yet, you can start with a small "resume" of what you're going to do at the start of each section.As of the conclusion, you're actually doing the thing right (sum up the things you said, link them together and hammer home the core thematic), and with extra beautiful poetic imagery at that. But, and I don't know how to say it in another way, it just feels too short. Something more along the length of your intro would have been perfect, I think.Damn, this comment turned out like a lesson. I'm very sorry about that. To be lectured by a stranger on your own blog(or something) isn't really polite of me, and I tend to comport myself like a teacher sometimes. I'll just reiterate that this all comes from a place of love, and that I really like your blogging thematics.

    Like

  4. I'm always happy to receive comments from people who are passionate about a series. If I focused on the trauma, then I wouldn't be able to touch upon the two different versions of the legend, and that was something I really wanted to do. I almost always search the net before I start writing a post in order to avoid repeating things that have been said before. Since you are an avid sora no Woto fan, you'll probably have encounter a more vision d'ensemble in the many reviews of the series when it finished airing. I wanted to bring something new though and focus on things I could talk about based on my knowledge. Then again I didn't want to tire my readers with an even longer post and that's why I tried to break down the post into three sections.As for the last paragraph, it wasn't my intention for it to be considered as a conclusion rather than an epilogue, a way to close the post. I know I have an issue with closing effectively a post, but I'm open for suggestions. It would help me more than a vague critique and I'm saying this with honesty, without a grudge.Thanks for commenting! 😀

    Like

  5. I couldn't avoid spoilers unfortunately. Well, perhaps now you've now got a motivation to marathon the series 😉 When you watch the series, you can come back and read this.

    Like

  6. Sora no Woto's thematics of trauma and existentialism are what keeps it from just being a cute slice of life show. The mundane actually serves to reinforce the feeling of something deeper than careless enjoyment of life is going on, in a sometimes uncanny manner.I like to see the world the characters live in as yet another traumatized being that hides its misery with rich, green vistas ; but you don't need to search far to find its scars. And since it is suggested that the world will never get over the trauma, I think it goes the same way for the characters. They will never completely heal, but they can learn to accept it. There's a certain fatalism to this, but it is strangely uplifting.As of your article proper, it is too much of a series of instances illustrating the thematic. There's nothing wrong with that, but I would have preferred a more vision d'ensemble approach to it, to which the examples would have been more strongly connected. And the conclusion is far too short regardless.(Don't take this critique badly, it comes from a place of love =))This was very interesting regardless! It helps that I love Sora no Woto.

    Like

Take your pen and write your story, co-traveler~

