Ts everywhere: twitter, tumblr and a lot of talking

So what else is going on this period? I’ve joined twitter and together with Neko we created two tumblrs, one focused on art, typography and graphic design, photos of books and quotes (thus naming it ‘the beautiful world – albums of two travellers) and one for naughty situations. We also have a facebook page some time already. 
N: This blog was initially created a. as an effort to record our days as a couple, and b. as a list of the things that make the world beautiful for the two of us. As communication with others became a growing concern of our daily lives, this site was bound to change.

F:  You see, I am, also, an avid reader of anime blogs, and so I felt the need to try to reach out to the world our voice as other great bloggers did. The first mistake was launching it in blogspot instead of wordpress… back then in Greece blogger was way more popular and as in university we were told to make a blogspot account I was already used to the platform. Now, although there’s the transfer possibility, it’s not that perfect; meaning if we do change over to wordpress we’ll lose our images and must transfer them one by one…

N: For sometime now, we are concerned on how to promote “The Beautiful World” to the outside world, how to make it as attractive, interesting and popular a page as it can be.

F: Precisely. I thought we really should do something to change the fact that we almost never get a single comment. Kitsune from Kitsune’s thoughts was the only stable visitor in the first years of this blog… so we said why not try social media? Although at first I was dismissing them…

[youtube http://youtu.be/0eUeL3n7fDs]

F: Facebook didn’t do much… we got some commenting in the beginning there, but very few people from our friends got here to comment (thank you guys anyways, you know who you are). Twitter was something I was mocking a lot. I still remember the talk I had with Kitsune about being anti-facebook and anti-twitter. And look at me now… Well, it’s not like I have 100+ on fb (more like 20 or so), I use it to get news and new music. Twitter is a medium I can’t get used to and to put it politely, I’m not very fond of it. There’s a whole wall with things that don’t concern me and even if I do post a link or a video there, it’s even worse than our blog. No one really cares. In the blog you don’t have all of these people ‘talking’ so very often – you have your own voice alone. Not getting a single response among so many other random ‘talks’ feels way lonelier. Some have complained about such an issue in forums, but I usually don’t feel so suffocated there and most of the time my opinion isn’t ignored that blatantly. The organization in a forum helps, I guess.

That’s how I feel in twitter… (Twitter Noise by Quasimanga)

Tumblr is a whole other thing. We both enjoy reblogging pictures we like.

N: I have become a great fan of this platform. Tumblr is more like a stream of images- and to a lesser extent thoughts-, flowing unstoppably, much different to blogger since it is much simpler and easier to share and promote the things we love.

F: Please do drop there! You can see our general tastes this way. We do face some issues with gifs – they can run smoothly on the dashboard but not on our tumblr page and it’s not even all of them that act this way. They run perfectly fine in other tumblrs so why does this happen to us??? If you have a solution to this problem and can help, please comment below.

N: What we do not know of course is how far this road will take us. We already operate in many different platforms. Are there going to be more places to show our love? We have rejected the possibility of writing articles targeting a wider audiences since we wish to keep part of the original goal; we still blog for ourselves, about things that have meaning to us. When that is over, this blog will be over too. So, even though you may see TBW evolving again, you will probably never find articles about things not worth our and your time.

F: *cough*unless it’s a rant post *cough* although I don’t do those often *blush* Anyways, social media don’t appear to do much for us till now and I can’t not think a bit like this poster:

Social Media Generation by requiredfield

You, visitors, can you show us we are wrong? We are waiting for you 😉

P.S.: Snippet Tee, Yi, Ryan, Hana, our newest friends, visitors and fellow anibloggers, I’d like to thank you wholeheartedly for your support these last months 🙂 Having people commenting is tremendous joy and gives us a sense of achievement.

Update (1/2013): Foxy Lady came to like twitter a lot. There are times when really fun discussions unravel and the sense of participation create happy feelings. But it still feels ‘too much’ when you aren’t involved in a chat or when drunken people tweet…

19 thoughts on “Ts everywhere: twitter, tumblr and a lot of talking

  1. No worries, but since they happened on different platforms, let's just leave them like that. I just happened to share my experience because it's quite relevant to your post. ^^

    Like

  2. @kitsune and neko

    There are a few annoyances with the blogger commenting system compared to, say, WordPress's. For example, I don't see a “reply” option on here (which is strange, because I have one on my blog…may be a problem with templates). Other problems may be that widening the area to make your comment is kind of glitchy (I can't see it after I move it a certain length), and I don't see any profile pics. Additionally, I don't think Blogger allows for emoticons, so…Lastly, commenting here requires moderation (we have to type in the two words), which some might consider annoying. anyways, that's all the problems I could find. Since a bunch of these things work on my blog, I get the feeling they may be problems arising from the template you're using or customizations you may be using. Although, I will admit that, having used both, I don't personally find much wrong with the commenting on this site (and I like the preview feature). Most of the things above are little more than mere inconveniences, so…

    As for the Dr. Seuss animal, you know how WordPress gives us those little pictures when we comment without an account of our own (you have that purple spirally one for instance)? Well, on Otakuness, an anime blog, the picture I was given looks like an animal from a Dr. Seuss book. It was an admittedly obscure and confusing reference, so I can understand why you'd be confused. Sorry. 😦

    Haha, don't feel guilty! I was just saying I'd be sad to be left all alone on Blogger (I don't read any other ani-blogs that are on here). Of course I'll still check you out if you move (provided you leave a link)! And it's my pleasure to find something I want to comment on, so thank *you*.

    Like

  3. @ Snippet Tee: Actually, it's me complaining about Twitter. I didn't make it very clear, it appears. But yes, Neko isn't interested in creating a twitter. At least for now- you never know. In any case that isn't anything to feel bad about, lol.

    MAL is something I hear often about and I might try it as an attempt to organize my watch list (I have this list on a notebook…)

    “some stuff are just getting so personal that I find offending and inappropriate.” – uhm like? What do you mean?

    Intense Debate… I think I've tried it once, but the options that were given to me didn't appeal to me much… when I tried it, all past comments were hidden. I don't remember the other option to tell the truth. Is Disqus better? Can anyone that has tried such services help me a bit?

    @ all: Btw, what's so inconvinient to the way you comment? Are you facing a particular problem?

    @ John Sato: “Um…everybody? Why are you all at WordPress? Did I do something wrong?…” – I know that inner monologue…

    “I have gotten pretty attached to my cool little Dr. Seuss animal I had given to me on Otakuness” – I think I'm missing cultural feedback here, because I don't understand.

    *blush* ani-blogger seniors? Oh… I'm not sure what to answer about this. Thanks for your appreciation and the comment, even if it's belated. Transfering to WordPress isn't completely sure, but WordPress sure has a lot more features that are helpful for an ani-blogger. Even if we transfer that doesn't mean you'll stop following, right? You make me feel kinda guilty now…

    Like

  4. Yeah, I started on Blogspot, then I looked at other anime blogs and was like, “Um…everybody? Why are you all at WordPress? Did I do something wrong?…” That said, I have gotten pretty attached to my cool little Dr. Seuss animal I had given to me on Otakuness, and also that cool orange clover-thing picture I have on a bunch of other blogs.

    If you do transfer to WordPress, though, I'll miss you. I haven't commented here a lot, but I've always considered you guys sort of like my blogspot ani-blogger buddies/seniors. And I will admit, the reason I first checked you out was because you were on blogger like me. Just so you know it wasn't a totally bad decision. Whatever you choose to do, though, I wish you the best of luck.

    Like

  5. Neko doesn't like Twitter, now I feel bad for luring Ayame to create an account…

    Before this blogging thing, I was only maintaining my Facebook (for personal use) and MAL accounts (just to feed my anime crave). Afterwards, I sign on Twitter to promote my blog likewise with tumblr so that I can advertise it further more (and dump in screen shots that I find interesting).

    For me this whole social media thing is just all about wanting to be heard and engaging myself to some interesting conversations. However, do I really want to talk that much and gain so much presence? Tbh, no. there’s still that part of me that's afraid to engage with strangers and not comfortable in socializing.

    Say for instance, I actually cut myself from Formspring, G+, and MAL because I just don't have time to maintain them and some stuff are just getting so personal that I find offending and inappropriate.

    So I guess bottom line for me, I socialize just mainly because I wanted my main blog to be read. However, some people are endearing enough for me to trust and open up a bit of myself, and share thoughts that I don’t talk about on my main site.

    Btw, why won't you use IntenseDebate for your comment section since you're using Blogspot?

    Like

  6. @Hana: fellow teachers I say, but I'm still unemployed ^ ^' Thanks, I'll try transfering to wordpress but not right now… perhaps later in spring or summer. I must test the whole process with a mock-blog first. I want to ensure that my blog won't get deleted, if I go on hiatus in the future. I really treasure it like a diary.

    @Yi: Oh, I was expecting that, especially for the second one, where there's lingerie good 😉 Thanks!

    Like

  7. Re: feedback, I second Ryan's comment re: the difficulties of commenting on here, it's a bit of a long-winded process, so that might put off others from commenting (do check out WordPress). Re: sccsav, just keep an eye on the google group emails I guess, and then don't be shy about asking for invites, or you can always set up watches/ other projects yourself. And 'fellow teacher' eh – in that case all I'll add is, Roll on Easter hols! 😉

    Like

  8. Yeah, it makes sense :/ But I must say that when I published Natsu no Zenjitsu, for example, I felt such immense joy of doing a good job on it. And I felt even greater that I got comments ofc.

    I'll try it, if and only if, I can import my images, too. I'll search for a 'dummy's guide' in you tube later.

    Like

  9. Yea, the lesser-known titles do deserve mentions, and that's understandable, but you have to have the readership before writing rather than thinking readership can be obtained by writing about obscure gems… if that makes sense; order of procession. Of course, blogging should be about satisfying yourself, so if you write a post and are satisfied with it, then you've succeeded.

    And feedback, well commenting here is pretty difficult. I recommend migrating to wordpress if possible, and I think wordpress can import from blogspot/blogger on it's own, just give it a shot. http://ourtimes.wordpress.com/2008/05/08/import-blogger-into-wordpress/

    I have been on the ab.net host for ages and haven't used wordpress.com but I know it's a good system with some extra features for reading/browsing blogs on the platform.

    Good luck!

    Like

  10. 😀 more comments keep flowing~ I'm on 7th heaven!

    @ Ryan: I learnt about gaguri (sorry if it's a she *sweatdrop*) through Kitsune's thoughts. He linked backed to gaguri's blog. If my memory doesn't deceive it must have been posts about all time favorite anime. And then there was a linkage back to Ha neul seom from a post about Madoka in an epi-blog… I actually didn't know that there was social media involved…

    Classics are good, but then other poor lil fellas, be it anime or manga get ignored. Shouldn't they receive some love, too?

    I don't really know about the case of an Usagi Drop post in the pre-anime era… If it caught my eye the way you wrote about it, I'd consume it anyways. But me is always just me.

    Yup, this post is meta. But since our initial target as well as the name of the blog allow greater flexibility, we won't restrict ourselves. Plus feedback is always good. Especially now that things start flowing.

    We've done some non-anime conversational posts. They are under the tag 'conversations'. We'll try it in the anime when the chance is given. I want to collaborate with Snippet Tee in the near future, if we can, and you'll see soon guest posts in other blogs 😉 Be on alert; I promise they're good stuff!

    Cheers, my friend!

    @ Ryan @ Hana -Oh and since we talk about feedback, is there anything you'd like to see on TBW? Recommend changes in graphics or content?

    @ Hana: Thanks for your kind words! As for sccsav I need to learn now how the whole things operates (do I add all the members in Skype?)

    Indeed facebook is more appreciated by companies and people who have something to sell. We made a move on it in order to engage real life friends, too. Although it hadn't a great impact, it still brought 1-2 people here.

    I'm quite selfish, I think. I want to do as I wish and have popularity I can handle at the same time *blush* I can't help it though…Thanks for the link, too! I'll check it out.

    I'll pass from THAT one of these days and comment to your posts to reward your efforts, as well. 😀

    Take care, fellow teacher!

    Like

  11. …so we said why not try social media?

    Well, I'm glad that you did, for this is how I 'found' you (twitter > #sccsav > followed Foxy after subscribing to TBW after I had a quick look at it and liked what I saw). Thus, in my case, not having the time or capacity to go on Anime Nano much these days, I tend to keep an eye open for interesting voices that include fun, thoughtful and concise reflective/ editorial-ish posts in their content (I habitually follow enough other epi-blogs as it is).

    In terms of other social media: Facebook is more for personal use with a semi-professional air for me; I'm not that familiar with tumbler yet; and as for twitter, I understand your frustrations if you are relatively new to it and happen to follow a lot of people. However, I really do think it (along with plenty of other things, no doubt) is what you make of it. Unless you're replying to and engaging in specific conversations, to me its fast-moving, ephemeral nature can only offer so much, so I wouldn't have too high expectations of it, I guess.

    Finally, it seems that blog awareness and comments are clearly important to you, but you don't necessarilly want a sudden explosion in quantity either. So, in short: What Ryan said above. And, in not as short: from a writing point of view, I always say write when inspired and be personal/ true to your own style, and then if you want to maximise awareness then simply be a bit clever about trending topics and posting schedules. (And if you do want to do more to aquire readership, then you can always check out Impz and Ghosty's post on self-pimping here: http://tinyurl.com/2dlhe9o .)

    Ganbatte!

    Like

  12. gaguri's blog is a great example, actually. But I'll say that he (for some reason I recall the author is female, but anyway) was not writing in a void. The blog has skilled perspective indeed, but it is worth mentioning that a number of those posts were on topics relevant in time. I'd say the posts were broken into 3-parts “current,” 3-parts animation/indie, 1-part off-topic.

    The blog also benefited largely from social networking. gaguri has been on twitter for years, and many of us older bloggers using the Google Reader sharing platform shared many of those posts back and forth. So it wasn't coincidental that we stumbled upon Ha Neul Seom, we were led there and pointed there slowly.

    I understand time-constraints and have idled on my blog for months on end at times. Foremost, to write about this kind of media, it must be consumed in some form. Before making time to blog, you must have time to watch stuff. And again selection is key, but not all “hot topics” are current. Well-followed classics like Utena and Bebop are always relevant, and potential also comes down to what the fans are up to (usually current stuff).

    Well, the Usagi Drop post happened because I was watching the anime and an episode resonated with me. Most likely I would not have known there would be an adaptation had I read the manga as it was released, and I might have posted anyway. If the post were about the manga, and there was no anime in sight, I guarantee it would have been pretty much irrelevant to fans/readers.

    Haha, I always consider thoughts on social media, it's been like that for years, and even have a number of posts on usage pros/cons/etc. These posts are all completely irrelevant because they aren't about media works. Need to be restrictive with them because they can really hinder the blog's identity (becomes meta).

    In any case, enjoy what's fresh and see if you can write about it. And there's a great advantage if you can do collaboration/conversation style posts together, that have a natural flow.

    Cheers!

    Like

  13. Hm, succesful in my eyes doesn't mean necessarily receiving one hundred comments. Then I wouldn't have the time reading them and answering back. I consider someone succesful, if there are posts that show more than 10 comments and have a unique style. For example, Ha Neul Seom, that has now stopped blogging. He combined his knowledge with anime and the unique results attracted readers. Reviewing blogs are kind of excluded in the list of succesful blogs, because they have it more easy and it's kind of granted that they'll attract readership.

    I understand what you're saying about the importance of timing, yet for us this isn't very easy. I'm (almost) jobless this period and that's why I can blog more frequently. Otherwise, we are preoccupied with the usual life obligations and we can't afford watching everything we like or what we might like on the same time it's broadcasted. Or even if we watch we might have an issue writing about it. Be it a time issue or an idea issue. I, also, kinda rely hope on readers that have the same problems or on newbies that want a 'guide' to an anime they watch 'belatedly'. As for the Usagi Drop example, one could say that you didn't know it would be turned into anime or when this might occur- then would you wait until it's adapted? What if it wouldn't not?

    Btw I just saw you had similar thoughts two days earlier. I actually wrote that post last week and was waiting for Neko's part. Great spirits meet or sth like that right? 😉

    Thanks for your thoughts and advice! And thanks for considering our blog worth following!

    P.S.: I started following you thanks to Snippet Tee, if I remember well. I took notice of you either from the blog roll or simply from the comments

    Like

  14. That is true in a sense, because I wouldn't have known about this blog otherwise. Though I have seen your comments on Kitsune's Thoughts in passing. Commenting on another blog is more likely to attract that blogger's attention but not necessarily other readers of that blog. It comes down to discussion and thoughts at that point.

    Twitter did not play a role in subscribing to your blog, but I think that is a good place to build your presence with people who blog or read blogs. And I agree that you shouldn't turn it into a chore or make sacrifices, it'll wear on you that way.

    And I also have the thought process 'If you are good at what you like to do, people will come to you' and I've seen that for other bloggers that I admire.

    This is kind of dangerous logic because it is mostly faulty. Sometimes what we see as “attracting people” has more to it than simply formulating content. There is a networking aspect, an attention to the blogger community (what other's are saying), and consideration for topic selection. When I think of “successful” bloggers, which I don't consider myself to be, their success is the result of topic timeliness/significance, written content, then connectivity, in order of importance. I would say topic selection is more important than the writing prowess. Connectivity helps create a flow of attention, pointing readers towards contextually relevant content.

    With that in mind, it's natural to see that formulating solid posts about off topics, that people are not looking to discuss, is an incomplete formula for success. To give a personal example, I wrote a post on the Usagi Drop anime sometime last summer/fall and it has drawn more views than many posts. Had I written that post on the manga, months or years before anyone was watching the anime, it would not have elicited the same response. Because that post was published during it's run and because the anime had a great following, the post was “successful.”

    As for tumblr, I'm quite ignorant of the social aspects. I post stuff, but rarely mix with users. It's very uni-directional.

    Like

  15. That's the longest comment we've received thus far! I'm so happy! Thanks a lot for taking part of your time commenting!

    You came here because I started commenting on your blog, too, am I right? Does twitter has anything to do with it?

    There are other factors for getting visitors, like the platform you work on, like I mentioned. WordPress links all the labels and tags of all the blogs together- I find it quite helpful.
    Btw I subscribed to anime nano to make up for the lack of this feature blogspot doesn't have.

    Then, there is the factor of similar tastes. I've tried commenting on some well-known blogs but with no results to my own amount of comments, simply because those bloggers are more interested in series/movies that we aren't. We don't want to sacrifice our own pleasure to promote things that are popular yet indifferent to us. And I also have the thought process 'If you are good at what you like to do, people will come to you' and I've seen that for other bloggers that I admire. Ofc, there's also the unique content factor that we are seeking, as well. We like digging up things that aren't very well known and promote them.

    All that said, you see we've tried opening up a bit. We hope we meet you on tumblr, too. Your opinion on the content over there is more than appreciated.

    Like

  16. I think the main thing, if I were to dig into blogging today, is that there is a need to be part of discussion, usually on other blogs and social media sites, with bloggers and non-bloggers alike. This builds an identity with others that may not be captured through entries. Building presence and identity helps establish something that readers can pair with your writing. The trouble with the current anisphere, in comparison to '05-06, is that there is much more content that most are not willing to sift through unless it's pertinent to their searches.

    I can make a concrete example out of your post on Natsu no Zenjitsu. There are two primary cases where that entry will be read. The first of course is if someone was searching specifically for a blog post on the manga. The second is when someone is familiar with your blogging identity enough to stimulate curiosity. Episodic bloggers of seasonal and/or highly popular anime, manga, or even vn's are able to obtain readership because there is a greater likeliness someone is searching for what they're writing about.

    It's basic mechanics. But social media helps bloggers extend their presence to the mutually interested. I find this important when there is a lack of familiarity to the identity; you have to get your names and ideas out there.

    Cheers!

    Like

Take your pen and write your story, co-traveler~

