The future is here (so let me take a look back)

All things, good and bad, reach a point where you can finally take a breath and look at what you have done for those who care about you and for yourselves. For me, this moment is now, since a very important period of five years as a graphic design student have ended.

My work can be found on my Behance page

When I finished highschool, I knew I wanted to be a comic artist. Most of my work at that time was sketches and paintings, and I was dedicated to discovering my own style and way through this procedure. When I look on some of the things I was drawing at that time, I think I was extremely confused, way more than I am now. Emotions were going through the roof and my head could hardly focus on anything. This explains why the figures I drew at the time were quite complex and violent, most of them black and white. Sometimes I used red as a color too, putting even more intensity on my work.

Like paintings, my ideas were unclear. I was one of the worst students you could find out there -which may explain why you are reading so little from me- but also one of those who wanted to know it all. So I tried to read and learn. This procedure took a long time to pay off.

I failed my exams to enter the School of Fine Arts in Athens. I also failed my school exams to enter any public school. I had my parents worried, my relatives suspicious of my abilities and myself unable to understand all of the above. That is how I became a graphic design student, in one of the private schools of the country. It was a choice I accepted, thinking that this place could become my link to people connected to the comicbook industry. I was not pleased with design itself. I showed that to my family in ways that make me feel disappointed to myself right now.

Starting, the confusion found its way out of my head, expressed onto the people I met. Silly things were said, silly things were done, although to give myself a little excuse, I also heard silly things all the time.

Friends came and friends disappeared. But I grew up, bit by bit. I experienced a lot of ugly situations and had my fair share of nasty fights. But I believe that through those times, I started changing my way. It is not that I changed as a person. Perhaps I improved on my weaknesses, at least some of them. It is that I found direction. I came to like what I do, what I make for a living. I came to love my studies because I see their real life implementations . I love reading too. I found many different names to read, from Milton Friedman to Niall Ferguson, from F. A. Hayek to David McCullough. I had the chance to learn of many new anime and manga. Who could have told me there are such lovely and spectacular stories like Mushishi and Revolutionary Girl Utena? Manga like Kare Kano and Gravitation? Amazing stuff and I am glad I can now truly enjoy them.

I was the most lucky for discovering my dear friend Foxy Lady. We are together for two years and hope to spend our third year happier and more united than ever. I will not write much here about her, because she knows how much she means to me. Just that I want more of us.

What I learned from life the past few years is that we cannot give up, or believe that things are set for good. There are always new surprises and new challenges waiting for us. There are people that are to come and stay or go. That is the beauty of life. Experience it the best and deepest you can.

2 thoughts on “The future is here (so let me take a look back)

  1. “Entering public schools can be very difficult because you have to compete with so many other talented people.”

    I really wish this was the case here. Judging from my experience in Greece it is more a matter of how many people and how important are the people who know you, rather than how much talent or will you may have.

    Of course that has nothing to do with me failing to enter the School of Arts -I know I was not ready at the time- just a statement of the truth.

    At least here the private sector in higher education works with higher standards than public universities.

    If only another person followed a similar path… so many lives would not be lost…

    If I get you right, you mean that were higher education more available to a greater number of people, then a lot of individuals/families would be better off? I totally agree with that.

    Thank you so much for the suggestion. I have read a part of McCloud's book at my school's library but never the whole piece. I am going to put it on my “soon-to-read” booklist.

    “Good luck in your career! :)”

    Best regards and great success to you too!

    Neko

    Like

  2. Congratulations on your graduation! Some interesting work there!

    “I failed my exams to enter the School of Fine Arts in Athens. …That is how I became a graphic design student, in one of the private schools of the country.”

    If only another person followed a similar path… so many lives would not be lost…

    Entering public schools can be very difficult because you have to compete with so many other talented people. In the US, it is relatively easy to enter a university, but to enter a BFA program, you have to submit a portfolio and pass. In other countries, the exams for entry into universities are much more stringent than in the US.

    If you are still interested comics or even if not, I highly recommend “Understanding Comics” by Scott McCloud if you have not read it already.

    As for the design, I would suggest books by John Chris Jones.

    Good luck in your career! 🙂

    Like

Take your pen and write your story, co-traveler~

