Winter songs- because Christmas is international

Cardcaptor Sakura by CLAMP

Christmas is a holiday that although has Christian roots has reached almost every corner of the earth and is celebrated by million people of different races and religions. In my country 99,9% of the songs we listen to have to do only with Jesus, God, angels and mages. In English… that’s another story. There are many that aren’t religion-oriented and of course I don’t talk about the traditional ones. So I felt the need to search for seasonal songs that don’t tie anyone with their meaning and lyrics, including me, who I don’t believe in any religion; plus some extraordinare and not the usual ones, that just ‘sell’.

Will you follow me for a pleasant -and even thoughtful at times- listen? 

I tried to collect songs from various artists and lyrics for all the tastes. As I mentioned before I put an effort to avoid stereotypes and religious references, as well as fairy-tales like Santa Claus. I couldn’t avoid though the Christmas tree and the snow- I know Australia celebrates during summer, but I needed at least one symbol or reference. And since Christmas is a celebration of love, the theme of most of the songs is love.Here’s what I’ve got:

For the ones who wanna be loved and confess:

…Well, it’s just like the season to be lonely
And my heart is beating for you only

Take my heart this Christmas
And wrap it in a ribbon and a bow…

For the ones whose love is afar- a new love, an ‘old’ love or even a love gone:

The missing piece by Alicechan on deviantart
I want to show you everything I see, the way I’m feeling
I need to be with you tonight, to hold your arms around me
My love for you in deeper than the deepest snows of winter
The greatest gift I ever had was you…
Unfortunately the original video can’t be embedded, so here is the link to go watch it on you toube
This is my winter song.
December never felt so wrong,
cause you’re not where you belong;
inside my arms.

This is my winter song to you.
The storm is coming soon
it rolls in from the sea.

My love a beacon in the night.
My words will be your light
to carry you to me.

Is love alive?

Check all the lyrics! It’s worth it!
…It’s late and morning’s in no hurry
But sleep won’t set me free
I lie awake and try to recall
How your body felt beside me
When silence gets too hard to handle
And the night too long…
Oh I miss you now, my love
Merry Christmas, merry Christmas,
Merry Christmas, my love

Sense of joy fills the air
And I daydream and I stare
Up at the tree and I see
Your star up there…

For those who appreciate the hug the get:
Boku ga Ita
I’m so happy I have you, who wants to talk with me and be with me
There’s nobody else like you; as I walked closer to you, little by little we became one

Every touch of your fingers
Confirms something to me
As we went on, without realising it
I had you, ah! Inside me

On the night of Christmas Eve, let’s snuggle up together
And show each other the love that’s grown inside us
Stay so close to me that I can’t even see you…

For those whose love has some years already and gets renewed:
The radio plays my holiday faves
It takes me back to when our love was new
Young lovers pass me by with their glow
That used to be us not so long ago
You said then
“I just want to spend a silent night with you”
…Lost in my daze, you slip past and say
“Girl, take my hand, see, nothing has changed
Now or then
I just want to spend a silent night with you”
 All is calm
All is bright.
For the heartbroken that try to gain some time:
You’re talking about leaving
It’s right about Christmas time
Thinking about moving on
I think I might die inside…
…Silver bells and open fire
And songs we used to sing
One more chance to be inspired
Is what I’m offering if love is not enough
Then stay with me because
The heartache can wait…

For the ones who want to break through and search for what they want:

…I could skate away on
But it don’t snow here
It stays pretty green
I’m going to make a lot of money
Then I’m going to quit this crazy scene…
(…He tried hard to help me
You know, he put me at ease
And he loved me so naughty
Made me weak in the knees…)
For the confused and the ones who seek their real ‘home’
by  CLAMP

make it home by Alex Wong

Everybody said, “relax, it’s just your first year”
Why is California so far from here?

OK OK New York you win
I guess I don’t know what I’m doing here
I swear I used to know

OK OK New York alright
I guess it’s Xmas here tonight
Let’s find the others, raise a glass,
I’m gonna make it home.

And 2 songs about the Christmas Spirit in general:
xxxholic by CLAMP
Don’t get so busy that you miss
Giving just a little kiss
To the ones you love
Don’t even wait a little while
To give them a little smile
A little is enough

How many people are crying
People are dying…
How many people are asking for love

Don’t save it all for Christmas Day
Find a way
To give a little love everyday

And since this is my favourite Carol, I’ll post all the lyrics 😀

It’s the season of grace coming out of the void
Where a man is saved by a voice in the distance
It’s the season of possible miracle cures
Where hope is currency and death is not the last unknown
Where time begins to fade
And age is welcome home

It’s the season of eyes meeting over the noise
And holding fast with sharp realization
It’s the season of cold making warmth a divine intervention
You are safe here you know now

Don’t forget
Don’t forget I love
I love
I love you

It’s the season of scars and of wounds in the heart
Of feeling the full weight of our burdens
It’s the season of bowing our heads in the wind
And knowing we are not alone in fear
Not alone in the dark

And the 12th piece, closing this ‘collection’, will be a wordless song dedicated to those who are alone and in pain. I wish you all to find some love!
Seraphim Call- end

Only stars are in the sky. There is no God. There are no angels. The only thing real to me is myself looking into the sky. The angel is in my hand. What meaning do hopes or dreams carry? Dreams don’t grant anything. Hopes don’t make miracles. The only thing that matters is this reality. I will make this reality. There is no such thing as an eternity. No matter how much I struggle, I will no longer be there in the 22nd century. That is all there is to it. I am not afraid of loneliness. I am not afraid of death. I am afraid though of abandoning my heart. That is all.

Merry Christmas to everyone and Happy New Year! And remember! “Happiness isn’t just a right, it’s also from many aspects, our duty: a contract we’ve made with life. “~ Jorge Bukai

Take your pen and write your story, co-traveler~

